[News]: Mute announces details of their new structure

Mute Announces New Structure



December 8, 2010 – New York, NY – Following the recent announcement that Mute has reached an agreement with EMI Music which sees the company, led by Daniel Miller, return to being independent, Mute now announces details of the new structure which sees the record label, publishing company and a new artist/producer management company brought together under the Mute name.

Says Daniel Miller; “I am excited about this new phase in our development. The things we value most – our relationships with artists and our desire to embrace new ideas and ways of working – can now be fully realised in a structure I have been aiming towards for some time. This is the ideal time and perfect opportunity to bring three key elements together under the Mute name”.

Angie Somerside returns to the company as Group MD, overseeing the already established record label and publishing company and will be charged with launching and running the new Mute artist management company. With her depth of experience in UK independent and major labels and as General Manager at QPrime Management UK, Angie brings a wealth of musical, marketing and management knowledge to Mute, where she actually began her career as a publicist.

Daniel Miller adds, “with Angie at the helm of the group of companies – recorded music rights, composition rights and a new artist/producer management company, I feel that we are in a great position to pool our collective experience and intelligence to best serve all aspects of our artists, writers and producers careers”.

With the launch of the new company come a host of new singings, including London five-piece S.C.U.M, Texan singer-songwriter Josh T. Pearson and Junip, featuring José González, as the first artists to sign to the invigorated company.

Alongside the new signings, Mute’s New York office is currently working with Moby, Liars, José González, M83, The Knife, Fever Ray, Erasure, Paul van Dyk, Andy Bell, Polly Scattergood, Recoil, Maps, and A Place To Bury Strangers.

A small number of artists will remain signed to and marketed by EMI Music, with Miller continuing to work with them in an A&R consultancy role with EMI.
Andrew King continues to head up the publishing company. In addition to Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, Grinderman and Liars, Mute represents writers such as Underworld, Juno Reactor, and Max Richter, and has recently taken on Sir Bob Geldof’s catalogue. Andrew King’s background was originally in management – he has managed Pink Floyd, The Clash and Ian Dury amongst others. Andrew will work with Angie Somerside in developing the management company within Mute. He is also Deputy Chairman of PRS for Music, and his wide knowledge of the industry will add to the new venture.

Mute’s New York office, headed by long term General Manager, Mark Fotiadis, will work closely alongside the UK company embracing both publishing and management deals. In addition, Mute has opened a new office in Germany led by Anne Haffmans, a long-time marketing director at Mute. Office space and marketing staff will be shared with Domino in the Berlin headquarters.

Since 1978, when he released the prototype electro single ‘TVOD/Warm Leatherette’ by The Normal, Daniel Miller has signed and developed an amazing array of innovative artists including Depeche Mode, Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, Erasure, Goldfrapp, Moby and Richard Hawley. With long term commitment to highly influential artists such as Liars, Diamanda Galás, Boyd Rice / NON, Simon Fisher Turner, Laibach and Can, Mute have shown that the guiding spirit behind their roster has always been one of artistic freedom and creative exploration.

New contact details:

Mute, 330 West 38th Street, Suite 606, NY, NY 10018
Tel: 646-502-7462

Mute, 1 Albion Place, London W6 0QT
Tel: + 44 (0) 20 8600 7960

Mute, Kopenhagener Straße 29 10437 Berlin
Tel: +49 30 440346 36


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: