out now: Fixmer/McCarthy – So Many Lies [Planete Rouge]




So Many Lies


Planete Rouge Records




Release Date:
April 2016


12″ & digital


So Many Lies

So Many Lies
(Instinct Mix)


Press Info:
After spending his formative years crafting a unique take on Techno, French musician Terence Fixmer released his debut album ‘Muscle Machine’ in 1999. Forging a path with tracks like ‘Electrostatic’ and ‘Body Pressure’ that became instant classics re defining the Techno scene.

For his follow up album Fixmer recalled one of his early influences and enlisted the legendary voice of Douglas J McCarthy, the lead singer from the cult band Nitzer Ebb and 2003 saw them join forces for the first time in the unlikely spot of Lille. Initially Fixmer wanted McCarthy to work on just one or two tracks as a guest vocalist but within merely a few days in the studio their collaboration proved so fruitful that they decided to make an entire album. Thus Fixmer/McCarthy was born.

McCarthy’s musical journey actually began in 1982 as a teen proto synth punk in the UK. Nitzer Ebb self released three 12” singles before signing to the bastion of electronic music, Mute Records, in 1986. Touring extensively with Depeche Mode on the ‘Music For The Masses’ and ‘Violator’ tours they cut a jarring trail through the music scene both in Europe and the USA. After five albums, McCarthy took a hiatus from music to pursue filmmaking. It was during this break that Fixmer was asked by Mute Records to remix the Nitzer Ebb classic ‘Let Your Body Learn’ which led him to invite McCarthy to participate with his new album.

Fixmer/McCarthy became the precursor to a new breed of Techno artists managing to traverse between the scene specific genres of Techno and EBM without being tied to either.

Now, after 13 years of writing and touring the world together, they return with their signature raw sound and delivery. ‘So Many Lies’ is quintessential brooding Techno whilst dispatching the cold steel aggression of EBM.




Fixmer’s remix EP “Aktion Mekanik Theme (Versions)” on Ostgut Ton
Fixmer’s album “Depth Charged” on CLR
Nitzer Ebb’s album “Basic Pain Procedure” on Pylon
Fixmer’s EP “Depth Charged (Remixes)” on CLR
McCarthy + Cyrusrex’s EP “DJMREX EP1” on Fold Press


Buy Vinyl:
Red Eye Records
more soon


Buy Digital:
Planete Rouge @ Bandcamp
more soon


Planete Rouge Records


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: