[NovaFuture Blog Exclusive Mix]: Explanatory Gap plays Ōtomo


Explanatory Gap


About the concept:
Here is the eighty-sixth instalment of our series “abc plays xyz”.

The idea behind it is to ask some DJs/mixing artists if they have an artist or label in mind that they love and would like to use for a mix.

So the approach of each mix is clear: the choosen DJ/mixing artist makes a selection of tracks produced by one artist (and her/his monikers) or released on a label (and its sublabels) and creates a nice mix from it.

Find links to all instalments at our overview. Today we present you Explanatory Gap’s mix of tracks released on Ōtomo.


About Explanatory Gap:
Explanatory Gap, 22 y/o, is a DJ and aspiring producer from Augsburg, Germany. He grew up listening to Techno, electronic music in general really, as well as non-electronic music which shaped his current understanding of music. Having always had the urge to express himself artistically, in one way or another, he picked up DJing as a hobby which quickly turned into his passion, next to creating his own music. Since the beginning of 2017, Explanatory Gap has been part of FACETS, a collective of like-minded artists best known for hosting their own events as well as for their podcast series that already featured several artists such as Non Reversible, Electrorites and Incident Prism, just to name a few.


About Ōtomo:
Global techno label releasing music from the cutting edge of emerging talent.


Listen & Download:
“Explanatory Gap plays Ōtomo” (download coming soon)


Explanatory Gap About His Choice:
Ōtomo is a label with an extremely diverse collection of releases that covers anything from soft and hypnotic Techno to the harder sounds and Industrial. The sheer variety of styles, sometimes radically different, yet still connected by an “underground vibe” speaks for the crew and their attitude towards the music they release, which in turn is what I’m looking for.


01. Temaut – Within Your Eyes
02. Merimell – I Didn’t Brush My Hair
03. Temaut – 8th Formation
04. Gilfoyle – Morphametosis
05. Yunclas – Black Block Doesn’t Fear The Police
06. Sarcomae – Pneumothorax
07. Åsger – EMP1
08. Korgasmatron – Tunnelbana
09. DBDK – Lucid Dream
10. Oruam Zior – Gok
11. Ignota – Nyctophilia
12. FNT2 – Wearing the Shame
13. Disk Space – Eyes Closed
14. DBDK – Oink
15. Korgasmatron – Metrica
16. Proceed – Locked In
17. Unit 731 – Drowning
18. Mekano – B1
19. Kaylah – 669
20. Oruam Zior – Tor
21. Gigi Galli – Machina
22. Kaylah – Savages
23. Buried Secrets – Invasion of the Earthmen
24. Timmy Mendeljejev – Inflict
25. FNT2 – Faraway Place
26. Amorte – Timor
27. Kaylah – Chaos
28. Buried Secrets – Man With Two Shadows
29. Unit 731 – Unity
30. Evergreen Symphony – Memories Of A Turntable


Valar’s “XCVIII” on Ōtomo
Unart8’s “XCVI” on Ōtomo


Explanatory Gap


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: